Communities of L’Arche USA

The first L’Arche community in the United States was founded in 1972 in Erie, Pennsylvania. Today, L’Arche USA includes 18 communities located in Iowa, Virginia, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Florida, Kansas, Alabama, Massachusetts, Washington, Oregon, New York, California, Washington D.C., Georgia, and Missouri. (See below for a list of emerging communities.)

Each community is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, and is governed by its own board of directors and managed by caring and professional staff. L’Arche communities are united through their membership in the International Federation of L’Arche.

Map of L'Arche USA

Blue – Western Region, Green – Central Region, Red – Eastern Region. Stars represent emerging communities.

“The essence of our communities is this ‘living with.’ We are called, certainly, to serve with all our ability and to help those who are weaker to develop, but the foundation of this helping is found in friendship and the communion of hearts, which allows us all to grow.” —Jean Vanier, L’Arche founder



Emerging U.S. Communities

A number of groups are meeting across the United States to explore establishing a L’Arche community. Called “Friends of L’Arche,” the following groups are actively engaged in the process of emerging as new communities within L’Arche USA: